The fundamental principle of privacy on the Site is that your activity on the Site is only visible to the people that you have given permission to see it, or to the person that provided you the account on the Site.
If you don’t create a user account, no data is stored beyond your session.
If you create your own user account, you control who is able to see your data. You may revoke access at any time.
If another person invites you to use the Site, your use of the Site is visible to them.
The Site, any unique URLs it appears on, and all personal information collected from users of the Site, is owned solely by us.
What information do we collect?
You can access the Site without disclosing any personal data. However, in order to provide you with a range of other services, we may collect other information. In any case, when we collect information, you will be the one that personally supplies it to us, predominantly when filling in a form to order a product or service, or filling in a survey. This may be, for example, your name, mailing address, email address, telephone number, gender and preferences, and we may store this for future reference.
A user may invite you to create an account on the Site or to view their data. No personal information is stored by us until you create that account.
In order to simply explain what information is stored and available, following is a description of the types of users and what they can see.
Visitor (not logged in): Visitors have full access to take the car, motorbike, heavy vehicle and tourist tests. The Site stores your current test results until you leave. If you email your score, we temporarily store that data in order to transmit if via email.
User: a User is a Visitor that has created a free account. The last 5 test results are stored along with your email address, password and any other information that you choose to add.
Trainee: Trainees are invited by a Manager or Account Holder. The Site stores test result data and login dates and times for use by the Manager. Other data such as the licence type owned, Training Log and Qualifications will be stored if data is entered, plus any data you enter in the profile section, or that was added by a Manager when the Trainee was invited.
Owner Driver: Owner Drivers purchase their own account. The full test results are saved unless deleted by the Owner Driver. Owner Drivers can grant access to a Manager to see their name, email, licences owned, test results that have not been deleted, Training Log entries, Qualifications entries.
Manager: Managers can see other users’ data when they have either been granted permission by that user or an Owner Driver.
Account Holder: The Account Holder controls a number of Trainees and Managers
The Site stores a token from our payment gateway, Windcave, which enables you to save your credit card details, but without those details being stored on our website. This does not expose credit card details as credit card payments are processed off our website.
Information that is collected through your use of the website
User information: When you create an account we collect your email address and password. You can optionally supply us your name, address, company, backup email, driver licence, NSN, date of birth and other details.
Billing information: We use a third-party payment processor (Payment Express) to manage all transactions. We do not store personally identifiable payment information on our server.
Usage information: When you take a test we store information from that test so that you can see your results. If you supply us your licence type or add any data to the training records sections, we store those, too.
Creating an account
When creating your account you must supply accurate and complete information and keep your account password secure. You are completely and solely responsible for activity that occurs on your account. You must not access another user’s account without their permission. If you become aware of a breach in the security on your account, notify us immediately. Please be aware that if you have not divulged your password to anyone, your computer may be infected with spyware such as keyloggers. We recommend the use of anti-spyware software.
DT Driver Training Ltd will never install malicious spyware on your machine.
The Site will send you a cookie automatically when you use it. Cookies are used, for example, to compile anonymous usage statistics and patterns of browsing. They are also used to keep you logged in or to store temporary information that is needed for that session. When used in this manner you are not personally identifiable.
We use companies such as Google Analytics to automatically record information about your visit such as your IP address, what browser you are using and which pages you visit. We use New Relic to monitor our server’s health. We use Facebook to ensure you can share your scores. These companies are also monitoring your usage to some extent.
How we use the information we collect
All information is used either to provide or improve the Site. It is used to:
- Help you log in
- Help us understand which features are used most frequently so that we can focus on improving them
- Help us investigate where things might not be efficient, or are going wrong, plus preventing fraud and abuse.
- Communicate with you by responding to requests, providing in-app notifications and email addresses.
By using the service you agree that we may occasionally send Site-related emails to inform of planned maintenance and outages, changes in the Site, or if you are nearing a limit or renewal. These are considered part of the Services provided and you cannot opt out of them.
We sometimes send emails to our users about new product features and other news. You can opt out of these whenever you like.
Deleting your account
This applies to both the website and our app DT Driver Training which you can find on the Apple and Google Play app stores.
Managers can delete Trainees’ accounts with immediate effect by removing the trainee from the course, then using Delete Permanently.
Account holders and Managers with the appropriate permissions can permanently delete other Managers by going to Manage > Managers can clicking Delete.
If you are a business Account Holder, or you have registered a free account, or you have purchased a course licence for yourself, please contact us to have your information removed. We aim to do this within one business day. You will lose all your data, so be sure to download anything you need (e.g. certificates).
You are responsible for ensuring that your computer system meets all relevant technical specifications necessary to use our Site, that it is compatible with our Site and that you have implemented sufficient procedures and virus checks. We cannot guarantee or warrant that any material available for downloading from our Site will be free from infection, viruses and/or other code that has contaminating or destructive properties.
Sharing and disclosure
We won’t share or disclose your personally identifiable information (name and email address) unless we are required to by law
Our programming and technical team will have access to various account data, but not credit card information.
We may share aggregated data with the general public, for example, the most difficult questions as determined by user results.
We take reasonable steps to protect your information from loss, misuse and unauthorised access or disclosure. Any sensitive information such as your sign-in details is encrypted before transmission using secure socket layer technology (SSL). We follow generally accepted standards to protect your personal data, however, no electronic or email transmission or digital storage mechanism is 100% secure or error-free.
Use by children
Site accounts are intended for users aged 15 and over in order to practice for their learner licence or to improve their driving. Material on the Site is accessible to all age groups, and we do not monitor the age of users on the Site.
Sometimes we update this document. When it’s updated, the new version comes into force and the old one is no longer valid. We won’t notify our users if this privacy document is updated.
Contact details are here.